Saturday, September 20, 2014

Opportunities for Commonwealth Nations

What is Commonwealth?               
A commonwealth refers to any group of people organized under a single government, particularly a republic. where all people involved have a say, or a loose formation of nations with a shared loyalty.  The Commonwealth of Nations is a voluntary association of independent nations and dependent territories linked by historical ties (as parts of the former British Empire) and cooperating on matters of mutual concern, especially regarding economics and trade.                 

Benefits for Commonwealth Citizens

- Consular assistance by the UK if in a non-Commonwealth nation and your nation does not have an embassy present.
- Eligibility for the Commonwealth Scholarship
- Visa-free entry into most Commonwealth nations (as a tourist)
- The right to vote or stand in an election (only in the UK and some Carribean Commonwealth countries)
- Eligible for a Working Holiday in the some commonwealth regions.        .  .                                     

There are fifty-three countries members of The Commonwealth.  The regions covered are Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe and the Pacific.
Countries by region

Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia

Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka

Caribbean and Americas
Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago

Cyprus, Malta, United Kingdom

Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu

No comments:

Post a Comment