Friday, September 19, 2014

How to Apply For Commonwealth Scholarships

If you are a citizen of a developed Commonwealth country (see list below), you can apply for:
  • Scholarships for PhD or split-site (PhD) study at a UK university
If you are a citizen of a developing Commonwealth country (see list below), you can apply for
  • Scholarships for Master’s and PhD study at a UK university
  • Split-site Scholarships for split-site PhD study at a UK university
  • Shared Scholarships for Master’s study at selected UK universities
  • Distance Learning Scholarships to study UK Master’s degree courses in your home country
  • Academic Fellowships for early career academics to spend time at a UK university
  • Professional Fellowships for mid-career professionals to spend time at a UK host organization
  • Medical Fellowships for doctors and dentists to spend time at a UK hospital
If you are a citizen of the Falkland Islands, the Maldives, St Helena or the Seychelles, you can apply for Scholarships for undergraduate study at a UK university
If you are a citizen of the United Kingdom, you can apply for Scholarships and fellowships in other Commonwealth countries

1.      Nominating Agency: There is a nominating agency for Commonwealth Scholarships in each Commonwealth country.
2.      Universities: Selected universities in a number of developing Commonwealth countries are invited to nominate candidates to the CSC for PhD study only.

However, all applications for Master’s study must be made through a national nominating agency

Click here for List of National Nominating Agencies for Each Country

National Nominating Agency For Nigeria
Assistant Director
Federal Scholarship Board
Plot 245 Samuel Ademulegun Street
Opposite Arewa Suite
Central Business District
Tel: +234 08188862281/08059108898

Universities/university bodies invited to nominate academic staff for Commonwealth Scholarships for PhD study (Nigeria)
Abia State University, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Ahmadu Bello University, Ambrose Alli University, Bayero University, Benue State University, Delta State University, Ekiti State University, Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Federal University of Technology Akure, Federal University of Technology Minna, Federal University of Technology Owerri, Imo State University, Kano University of Technology, , Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Lagos State University, Michael Okpara , University of Agriculture Umudike, Modibbo Adama University of Technology Yola, Nigerian Defence Academy, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Obafemi Awolowo University, Olabisi Onabanjo University, Rivers State University of Science and Technology, University of Abuja, University of Agriculture Abeokuta, University of Agriculture Makurdi,  University of Benin, University of Calabar, University of Ibadan, University of Ilorin, University of Jos, University of Lagos, University of Maiduguri, University of Nigeria, University of Port Harcourt, University of Uyo, Usmanu Danfodiyo University

Selection Criteria
Applications are considered according to the following selection criteria:
  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Quality of the proposal
  • Likely impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

How to apply

All applications must be made through your nominating agency (or university/university body, if applicable) in your home country. You must check with them in the first instance for specific advice on how to make an application and for their own closing date.  
The CSC cannot accept any direct applications from candidates for these scholarships.

After nomination, candidates must submit their application form using the Electronic Application System (EAS).

The EAS will close to applicants on 3 December 2014 and no further applications can be submitted after that date. The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the EAS to the nominating agency/university/university body in the candidate’s home country.

Developed Commonwealth Countries

Australia, Bahamas, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Cyprus, Malta, New Zealand, Singapore

Developing Commonwealth Countries

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada ,Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu Virgin Islands (British), Zambia

Hope this is useful. Do not forget to drop your comment or like our facebook page:

Aside the UK, there are other countries offering commonwealth scholarships: click here for a full list of countries offering scholarships 


Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom


  1. Thank you very much more for these valuable informations

  2. +Mosunmola Jaccuss you are highly welcome. I appreciate readers like you.