Sunday, February 1, 2015

Pathway for Foreign Trained Doctors to Australia

International medical graduates (IMGs) whose medical qualifications are from a medical institution outside of Australia or New Zealand, and who are seeking registration to practise medicine in Australia, must provide evidence of eligibility to undertake one of the following assessment pathways:

1. Competent Authority Pathway
2. Standard Pathway
3. Specialist Pathway.

This section provides important information for IMGs with basic medical qualifications and/or specialist qualifications who want to find out about the assessment pathways, including eligibility requirements, application processes, documentation requirements and methods of assessment.

Role of the Australian Medical Council
All IMGs must apply to the Australian Medical Council (AMC) for primary source verification of their medical qualifications, regardless of which of the three assessment pathways are being pursued. The AMC will verify their medical qualifications through the ECFMG International Credentials Services (EICS).

The AMC conducts the assessment process for IMGs in the Standard Pathway only; it does not conduct assessments in the competent authority or specialist pathways.

The AMC has no role in processing applications for registration or in granting registration, which is a function of the Medical Board of Australia (the Board).

I will be discussing the pathway one after the other in my next post.
Stay glued.

No comments:

Post a Comment