Tuesday, February 24, 2015

International English Language Testing System (IELTS):

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is the world's most popular English language proficiency test for higher education and global migration. IELTS is designed to assess the language ability of candidates who need to study or work where English is the language of communication. 

The Test is recognized by universities and employers in many countries, including Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the UK and the USA. It is also recognized by professional bodies, immigration authorities and other government agencies. It is jointly managed by the University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations (Cambridge ESOL), British Council and IDP: IELTS Australia. IELTS is an international standard 
language assessment Platform.

IELTS has two modules to choose from – Academic and General Training.
IELTS Academic is for test takers wishing to study at undergraduate or postgraduate levels, and for those seeking professional registration.

IELTS General Training is for test takers wishing to migrate to an English-speaking country (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK), and for those wishing to train or study at below degree level. 
Every organization usually sets their own entry requirements.

The test examine all four language skills – listening, reading, writing and speaking, unless you have an exemption due to a disability. Everyone takes the same Listening and Speaking tests.
There are different Reading and Writing tests for IELTS Academic and General Training. The Listening, Reading and Writing tests must be completed on the same day. There are no breaks between these three tests. The Speaking test may be taken up to seven days before or after the other three tests.

How to interpret your score:
You will be given a score from 1 to 9 for each part of the test – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. The average produces your overall band score. You can score whole (e.g., 5.0, 6.0, 7.0) or half (e.g., 5.5., 6.5, 7.5) bands in each part of the test.

The score shows proficiency levels as listed below
Band Score          English Language Skill Level            
Band 9                  Expert user        
Band 8                  Very good user
Band 7                  Good user          
Band 6                  Competent user              
Band 5                  Modest user     
Band 4                  Limited user      
Band 3                  Extremely limited user 
Band 2                  Intermittent use
Band 1                  Non-user            
Band 0                 Did not attempt the test

Hope this is useful. Do not forget to drop your comment or like our facebook

1 comment:

  1. these tips are good, we alos provide ielts training in jalandhar
    our website is