Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Application for TechWomen Award, 2015.

TechWomen is a professional mentorship and exchange program developed in response to President Obama’s efforts to strengthen relations between the United States and the Middle East and Africa.

TechWomen is an Initiative of the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. The Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs’ (ECA) mission is to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries by means of educational and cultural exchange that assist in the development of peaceful relations. 
TechWomen empowers, connects, and supports the next generation of women leaders in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) from Africa, Central Asia, and the Middle East by providing them the access and opportunity needed to advance their careers, pursue their dreams, and inspire women and girls in their communities.

Requirement for 2015 TechWomen Award:

TechWomen participants are selected based on the eligibility requirements below.
Applicants must

1. Be women with, at minimum, two years full-time professional experience in the STEM fields (science, technology, engineering, and math)
2. Have, at minimum, a bachelor’s degree/four year university degree or equivalent
3. Be proficient in written and spoken English
4. Be citizens and permanent residents of Algeria, Cameroon, Egypt, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Nigeria, the Palestinian Territories, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Yemen, or Zimbabwe at the time of application, and while participating in the program
5. Be eligible to obtain a U.S. J-1 exchange visitor visa
6. Not have applied for an immigrant visa to the United States, or participated in a visa lottery in the past five years
7. Not hold U.S. Citizenship or be a U.S. legal permanent resident

Preference will be given to applicants who

  • Demonstrate themselves as emerging leaders in their chosen professional track through their work
  • experience, volunteer experience, community activities, and education
  • Are committed to return to their home countries to share what they have learned and mentor women and girls
  • Have limited or no prior experience in the United States
  • Have a proven record of voluntary or public service in their communities
  • Have a demonstrated track record of entrepreneurialism and commitment to innovation
  • Demonstrate a willingness to participate in exchange programs, welcome opportunities for mentoring and new partnership development, and exhibit confidence and maturity. 
TechWomen encourages people with diverse backgrounds and skills to apply, including individuals with disabilities.

Award  Details:
The TechWomen Award Program's covers the following costs;
  • Round-trip international airfare from participant home country to the United States
  • Domestic airfare from San Francisco to Washington, D.C.
  • Housing in San Francisco or Mountain View, California during the mentorship
  • Meals and incidentals
  • Hotel stay in Washington, D.C.
  • Ground transportation to the participant’s host company
  • Local transportation to group program events in the San Francisco Bay Area and Washington, D.C.
The application deadline is February 10, 2015.
Click here to apply

Hope this is useful. Do not forget to drop your comment or like our facebook page:

No comments:

Post a Comment